Quarter Moon Bay for Doll Quilt Swap 4

August 29, 2008 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 18 Comments

Yay, my doll quilt arrived in Colorado, and I can finally post about it. My partner is Wendy of Wee Toes and Noggins. She was a great swap mama in a previous round of the doll quilt swap, and I was thrilled to make something for her.

Wendy’d posted that she loved a certain quilt called Half Moon Bay by Lynn of Craftstew, another DQS alum. Well, I happened to have a charm pack of the exact fabric (April Cornell’s Sonnet collection by Moda from a year or two back), and – AND! – also the pattern she used. It’s the cover quilt from last summer’s Quilts and More mag, a design by Monica of Happy Zombie.

I shared a couple of sneaky e-mails with my inspiration Lynn, who was tickled to be in on the secret and very encouraging of my half-scale version of her lovely quilt. I called mine “Quarter Moon Bay.” Get it?

It’s about 20″ square. I have a hard time with “random” placement of colors in quilts because I rearrange and rearrange and rearrange, so I sorted the colors into the corners and put the lighter cream patterns toward the middle of the quilt.

Quarter Moon Bay front

The back….ah, the back. It’s piece-y, and the label I intended as a main feature was almost my downfall. I made this groovy design and traced it onto fabric with a Pigma marker. Which ran in the wash. Oh. No. In retrospect, I think I didn’t prewash the cream fabric because, hey, who washes cream? So I was really marker-ing on the finish of the fabric, not on the fabric itself. After 3 washings, it’s much lighter, but still legible, so all’s well that ends well. It’s just a little broken in :o)

quarter moon bay back

Anyway, Wendy loves the quilt and wrote me the nicest of thank you e-mails! Whew!

* * *

And if you’ve read alllllll the way to the end of this, here’s a bonus. Some of you may know that I miscarried our first baby on Mother’s Day of this year. God is looking out for us because we’re expecting again. On Mother’s Day, 2009. Please send good baby vibes this way.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my goodness, I had no idea. Just wondered why you’d been so quiet… I am sending every good baby thought your way, and will continue to do so until you have the wee one in your arms next Mother’s Day.

    Your quilt is absolutely stunning, and the story behind it is fantastic. I think the label looks terrific the way it is, the color couldn’t be more perfect.

    Take care of yourself and the babe!

  2. The quilt looks fantastic, and good baby vibes are heading your way! Congratulations!

  3. Oh, congratulations! I will be praying for the safe delivery of your little one. Thank you again for the lovely quilt. I just love the placement of the colors – I’m like that, too. I tried to do random on my DQ, but ended up grouping colors!

  4. The label is fantastic. I really like how you spread out the colors on the front too.

    What wonderful news about the baby. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  5. Fabulous. i love it. wow, how excited she must be to get such a delicious doll quilt!

    and that’s the best news ever about your new endeavor! i’m so happy for you and hope that everything goes well.

  6. Your quilt is beautiful! And the label is indeed a work of art! All the very best with your pregancy!

  7. Quarter Moon Bay is one of my absolute favorites in round 4 ! I love everything about it ~ even the faded label ~ :0)
    Congratulations and all good wishes for you in your pregnancy ~

  8. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so excited for you!!! (funny how I have to hear the family news HERE because of the Annette/Emily rift)
    We’ll have to start planning the family quilting bee for sometime in the early spring!
    I’m counting on you to challenge Gwen’s title of the only one of “us cousins” to actually squeeze out a baby! (ALL of the following 11 births were c-sections) GO LISA!!!!!

  9. Congratulations Lisa! I am so happy for you!! We will be praying for you and your family.

    Oh, and the quilt is gorgeous too!! :)

  10. Your little quilt is beautiful!

    I am so sorry to hear about your miscarriage on the worst possible day of the year for such a thing. Best wishes on your pregnancy and please keep us posted!

  11. BEST wishes for you and your little baby(ies)!!!!

    The quilt is fantastic! The label is great!
    But these can not be compared with the wonderful baby news!!!! Congratulations and take care for yourselves!

  12. Oh congratulations Lisa! I am sending the baby vibes too through the magic internets. And that quilt is absolutely AMAZING!

  13. You don’t know me from Eve, I’m just a lurker who had to de-lurk after I read about your pregnancy. I miscarried on Mother’s Day of 2007, conceived again quickly and had a lovely baby boy this past February. I’ll be sending you good wishes for the same sort of luck.

  14. awesome quilt! I love the back – great idea.

  15. I’m so happy to read this post and to see the beautiful quilt.

    Be well.

    xo

  16. Congratulations!

    I’ve never seen a label like that! So Creative!

  17. Love the happy, delightful colors!

  18. We know this is from two years ago, but this is beautiful! Thank you for sharing your wonderful blog. Check out the American Quilter’s Society blog at: http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com/

    Keep up the beautiful quilting!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.