Crafty goodness

November 27, 2006 at 3:58 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 3 Comments

I’ve been waiting to introduce my little robot friend to you. I was one of the lucky ones who got to test a pattern by Hillary for her latest put-together book (available now). He went together smoothly in one afternoon, thanks to Hillary’s great step-by-step directions, complete with diagrams and helpful hints. Click on the body shot for a few details on his fabrics.

Head shot

What a great design. He’s just as lovable as a robot can be!

robot body shot

In more recent days, I’ve been winding these scrappy fabric balls like a woman possessed. My friend Kathy and I made a few of these in multi-colored fabric last week, but then I rediscovered a very similar design (Second String by Denyse Schmidt) in a quilting magazine I’d bought over the summer. It calls for monochromatic fabrics, which I think I prefer. I thought I’d make some for Christmas, but ended up making them in colors I could leave out year-round.

fabric balls and yoyos

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your Robot is fabulous! I love the colours you used. The fabric balls look wonderful all gathered together like that.

  2. The robot is gorgeous. I also love the fabric balls…how did you make them are the strips of fabric wound around foam balls??

  3. Wonderful robot! Love all those fabric balls together – a great display.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.