Care for a spot of tea?

March 12, 2007 at 1:23 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 4 Comments

I recently bought the CUTEST teacup pouch from someone I’ve long admired. Her name is Laurraine, of Patchwork Pottery, and she’s so skilled in both of those media!

teacup pouch from Patchwork Pottery

The workmanship in the bag is just great. Check out the detail of this linen “tea” tag. So cute.

teacup pouch tag from Patchwork Pottery

She was so sweet to include a little lagniappe* with my order, including some really cute button magnets and this amazing fabric. Can you read it? MILK, MILK, MILK, MILK….

from Patchwork Pottery

If you want to get your own teacup (she has great coffee cup ones, too!), please run, don’t walk! to her etsy shop. You’ll be glad you did!

Best of all, it matches the tote I made the same week. Don’t adjust your monitors, kids; it’s a HUGE tote because inside are my rotary cutting mat (25″ by about 20″) and rulers. And a million other things, since they fit! I have been traveling a lot with my machine and it was a pain to tote all my gear in several ill-fitting bags.

sonnet tote 01

Here’s a closeup of the vintage avocado green rickrack and patchwork pocket. You can ALMOST see the free-motion quilting on the brown floral fabric (April Cornell Sonnet from Moda).

sonnet tote 03

I’m gonna make a matching sewing machine cover soon.

*lagniappe /LAHN-yop/ is a little extra something given when you buy something, like the 13th doughnut in a baker’s dozen.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think I saw these on Flickr, but missed the close up – I love, love, love the fabric with the words!

  2. What a doll Laurraine is to include such cute goodies with your order. Your tote looks fab, I’m loving the flowery print.

  3. Everything is gorgeous. And a new shop to add to my etsy list!

  4. Sigh.. I love a good thrift.. Mine or anyone elses. Smiling veggies? No wonder you couldn’t put the tablecloth back.

    Great tip on Purlbee Swatch portraits too.. I saw that today and just loved them. I need More Wall Space!

    I’ll be back to see what you get up to with that wool!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.