Chef An-ette Recipe box for MIL Annette

December 15, 2006 at 4:15 pm | Posted in Family | 6 Comments

Don’t you love finding the perfect gift for someone? It almost makes up for all the rushing around and agonizing you do over the holidays.

At our family Thanksgiving party, Cousin Elli showed me my husband’s grandma’s recipe box: the cutest little set of hollow metal “cookbooks” that held recipe cards. The brand name printed on them was “Chef An-ette,” and my mother-in-law’s name is Annette. Hm, doesn’t take a genius to figure out that she’d probably love to have something like that to remind her of her mom. With three daughters and lots of granddaughters, Grandma’s items are spread out far and wide among lots of family members.

chef an-ette recipe box closed

Each “book” holds different types of recipes…

chef an-ette recipe box open

…and tilts out out to allow access to the cards. The cutest thing, no?

I found it on eBay, and it’s in remarkable condition for its age. And I got it for a song, which makes me love it all the more. I just know she’ll love it.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a FABULOUS gift!!! GOod job finding it!

  2. Thank you so very much for writing about the Chef-an-ette. I just saw one on eBay and was looking for a bit more info on it. I bet your mother-in-law just LOVED it and the name to boot, you couldn’t ask for a better present. You know, I think there was a set of cookbooks published that look just like it. I’m going to have to check. Anyway, thanks for the info, nice blog too!

  3. I just got one of the chef-an-ettes. it belonged to my gradmother.My aunt says it was in her kitchen when she was a little girl in the 1940s.Any idea how old they are? Ours is red and black with white books.

  4. Would you mind saying how much you paid for it? I have a red and black one that I would like to sell. I bought it when I was 14, but my kitchen style now (at 29) is modern and it just does not fit… :)

  5. […] losabia.wordpress.com/2006/12/15/chef-an-ette-recipe-box-… […]

  6. […] losabia.wordpress.com/2006/12/15/chef-an-ette-recipe-box-… […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.