Blueberry Πr2 & boating

July 24, 2007 at 11:43 pm | Posted in charity, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts | 13 Comments

Eireann‘s mother survived a recent aneurysm and stroke. That’s the good news. The bad news is that her medical insurance will not cover her care and rehabilitation due to a pre-existing condition.

Crafters the world ’round are donating handmade goods to help defray the family’s mounting expenses. The items will be auctioned on eBay beginning August 19th. Eireann’s named the auction one in ten, after the odds that a patient will survive medical conditions like her mom’s.

After reading about the auction on Tania‘s blog last Friday, I volunteered to contribute a quilt. Then I found out that photos of the contributions were due this Wednesday. Oops. I sewed up a storm this weekend and completed the quilt with a day to spare. Totally unlike me! But here it is, the 4-day quilt:

Blueberry Πr2 detail

It’s the same design as the Strawberry-Rhubarb Πr2 quilt I made for Maitreya in the first round of the Doll Quilt Swap.

Blueberry Πr2

Lapis blue is Eireann’s mom’s favorite color. I was fortunate enough to have all the fabric I needed on hand. The blue-on-white print on the back? Blueberries. It was meant to be.

I matched the heck out of that plaid binding. Can you see the 5 joints? No? Good :o)

Blueberry Πr2 back

For those of you who caught that I called it a 4-day quilt when there were actually 5 days between Friday and today, here’s the reason: we’ve had quite a run of perfect summer weather here in Chicagoland, so Ryan and I joined our friends on a little fishing outing in a local forest preserve over the weekend. Our friends rented a rowboat.

rowboat

We prefer a canoe. I didn’t even get a fishing license. I enjoy just paddling around instead. Much less messy. Here’s a photo I took of him with all of his gear. Can you tell he loooooves to fish? I think he might have as much fishing equipment as I do sewing/quilting gear.

Ryan in the back of the canoe

What a great day. An even better day for the fish, since we failed to catch any at all.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is a lovely gesture and a beautiful quilt–I will be keeping my eye on the bidding for that one!

  2. Fantastic job!

  3. Lovely quilt, Be a doll & let us know when we can bid.

  4. Medical insurance–grrr. Beautiful quilt; I’d also like to know when bidding starts.

  5. This was very thoughtful of you and you did a fantastic job! I am a canoe girl myself :)

  6. That last photo is fantastic! It is tilted at the perfect angle to look like a shot from a villian scene in the old Batman TV series. Is Ryan a happy fisherman or is he FishMonger, the Evil Supergenius?!

    Not to ignore the more serious nature of this post; yet another in a long line of sad medical insurance stories. I think I heard about a documentary on that subject ;)

    -I

  7. Wow, that doll quilt is another beauty. Love that pattern you are doing. Striking.

  8. I love the quilt!

  9. I love it, such a beautiful quilt !

  10. Its amazingly beautiful.

  11. I love seeing it in blue.

  12. nice job on this quilt, too!

  13. Love the blueberry π, especially the homage quality. And canoe – love canoes!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

