Now, WHOSE bright idea was it

July 10, 2007 at 10:45 am | Posted in Doll Quilt Swap, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts, swaps, WIP | 14 Comments

to have some of the swappers send some of their doll quilts early? And to set the Draconian deadline of the twelfth?!?!

…oh, wait…that was me. Sigh.

It seemed like such a good idea to have some people send quilts early. And then it seemed like a good idea for me to be one of the early people to set a good example, since I suggested it. And to challenge myself, just as I had recommended in the DQSII guidelines. So I decided to try hand quilting.

Oh, help! I mean, I don’t think any more tips or instructions will help because I took a lesson at the local quilt shop and got some really great advice from other, much better quilters. I just hope I can get it all done by Thursday.

Here’s part of it:

Doll quilt hand quilting WIP

(It’s not sitting flat in the photo.) I hope my partner isn’t some sort of hand-quilting connoisseur! My stitching is 1) humungous, 2) crooked, and 3) uneven. But it’s not from lack of trying!

I guess if there’s a bright side, it’s that the Denyse Schmidt-style quilt that I’m working on is intentionally wonky-looking, so The Perfect Stitching wouldn’t be appropriate for this piece, anyway, right? Right?!

Thank goodness!!

[edit: I’ve had a change of heart and decided to embrace my wacky quilting stitches. See the next post!]

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think the good thing for most of us is that wonky seems to be “in” right now. The little glimpse looks great.

  2. Right!! It looks quite good for your first time. Some of the imperfections will be eaten up by the bumpiness once it’s washed, too. I’m sure your partner will appreciate the extra time and dedication you’ve put in.

  3. You’re right! Perfect is boring anyway. I think it is looking great!

  4. Once again, I am irritated with myself for not signing up for the early group-I am in love with your quilt!

  5. you’re telling me! this is my first quilting experience, and i haven’t been sewing all that long to begin with. oh, and i decided to add an embroidered square to each of them…each of them…did i mention that i’m trying to do two because there are two girls?

    note to self: next time? go simple.

  6. I love your quilt! And yes, perfect stitches would just look ridiculous. I signed up for the early group too… no way am I hand quilting it though! You’re much braver than I am…

  7. I think it looks beautiful! And yes, Perfect and Wonky do not a happy couple make.

  8. Right! I see nothing wrong with those stitches :)

  9. You stitching looks great!

  10. totally unrelated to the doll quilt swap, thanks so much for the tip about my bird being a purple finch! purple? whew. maybe he’ll turn purple as the season progresses. i’ll keep an eye out for him.

  11. I’m not part of the swap group, but I love the look of the quilt AND the stitching! Hope you will post a picture of the finished product.

  12. It’s looking beautiful Lisa!

  13. Hi Lisa,
    I couldn’t join your swap as I wouldn’t even know how to start making a quilt,anyways,I think yours is fine,what is perfect anyways?Even things found in nature have their imperfections,yet we find them to still be beautiful.Your work shows time & dedication which one would admire more than a “perfect” piece that was all done by some fancy sewing machine. :)
    Renee

  14. Thank y’all so much for the encouragement! I have made a complete 180 and now looooove hand-quilting. What a silly goose :o/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

