Florian frog

June 18, 2007 at 12:30 pm | Posted in plush, Sewing/Crafts | 10 Comments

I just love the Purl Bee’s tutorials. They posted another winner yesterday, and I just had to drop everything and make one: the purl frog.

Florian frog sitting

Meet Florian. He’s a mellow, happy sort of fellow, made from April Cornell’s Sonnet fabric.

 Florian frog lying

If you like him, you should make your own and post him at the purl frog groupon flickr.

I did stray from the instructions when making him.

  • Print the template, and cut along the dashed SEWING line rather than the solid cutting line.
  • Trace the sewing line on the wrong side of a rectangle of fabric. Make sure you have at least 1/4″ of fabric all the way around the template.
  • Pin another rectangle to the first, right sides together.
  • Sew on the marked line.
  • Cut out 1/4″ from the stitched line after sewing.

 It just saves you from having to cut twice and match up the pieces.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great tip. I’ve been thinking of making a few of these since I saw the tutorial.

  2. Leaping Frogs!! he’s cute. I did the same thing with mine (pinning the two fabrics together with rightsides facing so everything matches up).

  3. He is too cute and I love that fabric too! Your tips are great. Never would have though of that!

  4. Thanks for the helpful hints – I am going to make one after I bind my doll quilt…

  5. He is so sweet – I love his turquoise eyes!

  6. Nice frog!

    Thank you for your comment. I do whatever catches my fancy, and a lot of the time I am lucky, getting supplies for cheap or free – like the Pinwheel Square? Most of the fabrics for the quilt this square (now a pillow case) accompanies were inherited from a woman long since passed.
    Oh, and knitting is not hard. You dont need a lot of space for it, either, if you can limit yourself to one project at a time. Unlike me. If I count, honestly, I have at least 6 things going. And three spinning projects, with a lot of stash, too. And two sewing projects, not counting the abandoned doll quilt.

    Hmm, I like that frog – wonder how it would look in pink? And filled with rice – I had a doll like that once, loved to knot it all up, wonderfull :-)

  7. Great choice of fabric, earthy colors for an earthy little guy..very cute :)

  8. well done! seeing yours…now i want to make one.

  9. that’s a really cute little frog! I love her fabric!

  10. This little guy is too cute. Nice fabric choice…I can almost see one in some crazy Japanese florals…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

