a lazy day

June 13, 2007 at 2:11 am | Posted in shopping | 6 Comments

It was a perfect, sunny, breezy day. I’d been putting in a whole lot of time on the swap and wedding maps, so I gave myself permission to do some running around today. Theme for the day? Free!

First, I met up with a friend of mine, who gave us more beautiful free bedding, to go with the beautiful free BED she and her hubby gave us last weekend. (Thanks, Erin & Jim!)

I’m not really a mall person, but I had a return, so I took the opportunity to swing by Anthropologie for the first time.

Wow.

What a great place. I love their displays. One of my favorite things was an old gumball machine they’d dropped a square of Astroturf into, and added a miniature picnic table set. These were a close second:

The owl’s breast is lined with rows of rickrack, and the bunnies tail is a spiral of the same. I totally want to make that owl! His eyes were a little stuffed, too.

I might have to go back for the Lotta Jansdotter sticky notes.

Visited the new Swoozie’s (in Oak Brook, local people!) to spend a gift certificate they’d given to everyone in a club I belong to. [soooo many prepositions, including that one at the end.] That place is a riot of papergoods, giftware, toys and tableware. Oh, and snacks. They also personalize invitations. Oh, darn. I should have plugged my map business. Now I’ll have to go back, heheh. Anyway I found a black and white polka dot canvas slipcover for the folding chair in my craftspace. It didn’t fit the chair :o/ But it’s such a perfect fit for my color scheme that I’m much more inclined to find a new chair than I am to return the slipcover! That’s what craigslist and garage sales are for.

Where next? Over the weekend, a local quilt shop sent me a “we miss you, so here’s a coupon for $25 in free merchandise.” Um, I was there 2 of the last three weeks, but okay, I’ll take your coupon! I bought fabric 6 half-yards of fabric and ended up shelling out a whopping $2.65. Guess their nefarious scheme to trick me into buying more didn’t work! Here are the print fabrics. Left to right, Mary Rose Mod (Kaufman), Mary Rose Mod again, Picadilly (Free Spirit), Freshcut (Free spirit).

    

I also picked up an aqua solid (Sandy’s Solids, Moda) and an olive-y green (Bella Solids, Moda). I think some of these will make it into my doll quilt for the swap.

Finally, I purchased a few treats for my husband, whose birthday is tomorrow! I made him a strawberry-rhubarb upside-down cake from his late grandmother’s recipe. He’s lucky that rhubarb is invariably in season around his birthday, for the cake, and there are always Father’s Day sales, for the gifts. Or maybe I’m the lucky one. For all of the above, and for having landed such a wonderful man.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That cake sounds so good! Would it be possible for you to share the recipe?

  2. i think that you deserve a w00t! for your fantabulous quilt shop purchases!

  3. That owl and bunny are darling.

  4. Wow, that cake sounds yummy…I crave anything w/strawberry and rhubarb. Want to share the recipe?
    Can’t wait to see the quilt you compose w/those fabrics, they are yummy too!

  5. I feel I need to get my Anthropologie fix every so often – step into the rarefied air. They have so much fun dressing that store up. Too much fun. Ans long live the preposition!

  6. I love your new fabrics. I’d love to set foot into an Anthrogpologie store. Sounds like fun!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

