All Doll Quilts, All the time

June 11, 2007 at 1:48 pm | Posted in Doll Quilt Swap, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 11 Comments

I just posted an announcement over at the Doll Quilt Swap blog that we are ending the registrations early. At 100 swappers! I hate for anyone to be disappointed at missing the signups, but I had noooo idea that the swap would become so popular. I’d hate more if the swap experience was lessened or compromised by us not being able to keep up with questions and stay on top of the swappers’ progress, so it had to be done. Boo! Please help spread the word on change if you happened to post about the deadline on your blog.

In much, much happier news, I received my swap quilt from Michelle last week.

received

Isn’t it pretty? It was showcased on Whipup for their May miniature quilt challenge, and rightly so. All the stitching: the piecing as well as the quilting, was done by Michelle’s own two talented hands.

 The binding is stitched and mitered so beautifully, it’s ridiculous, and I mean it in the nicest possible way.

dqsi received miter

It took a while for me to recognize that the rows progressed in rainbow order. I was just so agog at all the fabrics and handwork. The quilt includes batiks and calicos, a mix of new and vintage cottons. This is one of my favorite sections.

dqsi received greens blues

I’m humbled and grateful at having received such a work of art. What a treasure. Thank you, Michelle.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That was worth the wait! It’s stunning.

  2. Wow, that is gorgeous!

  3. It’s so pretty – worth the wait.

  4. I agree with tut-tut – absolutely stunning!

  5. Sooo amazing. What a work of art! And what an amazing response to the swap, too…there’s going to be lots of busy bees out there…

  6. I love how scrappy it is!

  7. That is such a pretty quilt! I can’t stop looking at it.

  8. What a gorgeous piece of art!

  9. You so lucked out!! I admired that at Whipup. It’s perfection!!

    Now I’m worried about signing up for the quilt swap. I hope I don’t embarrass myself!!

  10. Oh, Lisa, you’re so welcome. You deserve it for running such a fabulous swap, and encouraging me to sign up even though you knew that meant you’d get your quilt late. Funny about not noticing the rainbow effect, I told my husband it took you a while to see it, and his response? “Oh, you did a rainbow?” Ha!

    Oh, by the way, would you be my publicist, or my agent should I ever need one? :0)

  11. A truly great quilt. Wonderful fabric selection.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

