I’m finally working on a dedicated craftspace

May 31, 2007 at 6:01 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts, WIP | 8 Comments

for myself. I’m about halfway done, and it’s already worth it. Here are a couple of sneak peeks.

I bought some expandable bamboo trellis for a song at Hobby Lobby. When I expanded it fully at home, I found that it was 15 feet long. Oops! Where’s that hacksaw?

clothespins

I decorated 2 dozen clothespins so I can use the trellis as an inspiration wall. I love Sally’s idea to put the fabric on buttons and then attach them to the pins, but I was so impatient to be done, I decided to eliminate the middleman and decoupaged the fabric directly onto the pins.

Swatch portraits for the craftspace

I also made a few swatch portraits using the instructions over at the Purl Bee blog. The watermelon-lovin’ child (oh, who DOESN’T love watermelon THAT MUCH?) is from a dish towel by folk artist Nancy Thompson.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A crafty space of your own sounds wonderful.

  2. oh i love the clothespins! are there pix of the whole thing anywhere? i saw the one with the little dress and purse but didnt see any others. cute idea!

  3. Adorable swatch portraits. I wish I had the wall space for all the ones I’d have to make, so I’d better not get started.

  4. I really love your colour combo with the wall hangings – the watermelon hugger is divine! I like to see inspiration come from all sorts of places – even a dishtowel!

  5. Love it – a craft space of one’s own. Very Virginia Woolf meets Martha Stewart or something like that.

  6. Looking good, Lisa! Love the clothespin idea! Can’t wait to see pictures of the whole space!!

  7. hey, your blog looks different. what did you change?

    ANNNNNND….. love your progress so far on your dedicated craft space!

  8. Don’t you think that child on the watermelon looks like he is going to barf? (Perhaps he is allergic!)

    I may have to stop by to see this craft space for myself someday! Oh, how I do need some inspiration!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

