New Doll Quilt

May 22, 2007 at 9:40 am | Posted in Doll Quilt Swap, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts | 10 Comments

*There’s an update on the Doll Quilt Swap at the new site!

strippy doll quilt front strippy doll quilt back

I made this quilt a week or two ago after having seen the lovely happythings’ scrap strips squares quilt tutorial based on Nancie Voegele’s Linus Connection Strippy Quilt. I used 1-1/2″ strips and finished size is about 18-1/4″ x 21-1/2″.

What a fun and addictive technique! The piecing goes surprisingly quickly and it’s really gotten me into stashbusting mode. I often agonize over fabric choice and placement in “random” or scrap quilts. Using this method eliminates all the angst. I’ve made another strip top in citrus-y colors and am on to making a strippy quilted sewing machine cover.

coasters for lou

Here are two of a dozen quilted coasters I’m sewing for a friend’s birthday. I’d made some as a hostess gift for her in the team colors for a Super Bowl party last winter, and she loved ’em. These are a little more presentable for non-game days.

Those Super Bowl coasters? I made them that morning. So on the topic of Last-Minute Lisa, I made another Plain Spoken quilt (in about a day) as a baby shower gift, but this time I was so rushed that I wasn’t able to get photos. Seriously, I think when she opened the gift, the quilt was still warm from the dryer! I GOTTA work on that whole procrastination thing. I’ll see if I can wrangle some pics of the quilt and the matching pennant banner (party decoration and nursery decor!) from her soon. I am still in love that Plain Spoken pattern, though. Even in my desperation it was an easy and pleasing quilt to piece.

I might be blogging and crafting a lot in the near future. The 17-year cicadas are hatching today and it promises to be a red-eyed-bug-filled next few weeks. Bleah. I’m stayin’ inside.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Neat strippy-quilt!

  2. Lisa, the strippy quilt looks so cute! I’m going to have to try that this weekend.. my scrap bin is getting a little out of control…

  3. Very cute! I need to try that strippy technique! Love the coasters, too. How do you get your machine quilting so good?!

  4. I love how the quilt turned out and the channel quilting looks great.

  5. Those are great, Lisa. I’m going to investigate those links.

  6. hmmm… but it looks like the coaster is one piece. is it?

  7. Very cute, the quilting stitches really makes the quilt work. Wild colors, cool!

  8. Lovely as usual – your color choices are really amazing. Striped goodness!

  9. I love your doll quilt – I will have to try this.

  10. I absolutely love this quilt!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

