Ball dolls: Another whale

February 23, 2007 at 1:50 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 5 Comments

The gestation period for real baleen whales can be over a year (!), but I couldn’t wait that long to make another of these. They’re way too much fun!

ball dolls - waylon whale

I lucked out with the stripes matching up again. Those two pieces are cut on the bias this time, so the outcome is much more spherical, which makes me happy.

ball dolls - waylon whale, flukes

I think I’ll name him Waylon.

Don’t worry, I’m not stuck on whales now; I’ll be posting new ball doll designs soon. Thank y’all soooo much for the many nice things you’ve said about the menagerie thus far.  I am considering selling patterns or even the little dolls themselves. I’ll decide what and how a little later. For now, I’ll just keep sewing!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Another cute ball toy! I would love to purchase a pattern or the doll from you.

  2. Hmmmm…

    *sings just keep sewing just keep sewing…*

  3. LOL, Madeline. You know, I speak whale…

  4. My Zach was sitting on my lap when I pulled up your blog, and he got SOOO excited to see this. He’s “swimming” around the living room now, making whale sounds. (Did I mention he’s obsessed?)

    Soo cute.

  5. I say both, the patterns and the balls. The patterns are for all those that can actually follow directions and the ball toys are for the the direction/patience challenged like me who “want one right now!”. Hmmm. Knowing me, I’m probably going to buy the pattern too just in case.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

