Ball-een Whale

February 21, 2007 at 5:22 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 14 Comments

“Baleen” is another term for whalebone, a structure kind of like a strainer, which some whales use to scoop up food from the sea.

Meet the latest ball doll: Mario the Whale. Since Madeline gave me the idea for the whale, I named it after her cute little son! (Hi, Madeline! Hi, Mario!)

ball dolls - whale front

Do you SEE how the pinstripes matched up on his tum? I admit that I’d cut them with the hopes that they’d be close, but I didn’t for a minute entertain the thought that I might be able to pull it off. That’s the great thing about low expectations: it’s always a pleasant surprise when things do go your way.

It took a long time and a lot of figuring and rooting through my craft supplies before I came up with his “spout.” But once I had a plan, I think it only took about 3 minutes to actually make it out of teeny, tiny rickrack. The base is wrapped in perle cotton thread to make it stand up.

ball dolls - whale from above

Stay tuned for more ball dolls!

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i really love these ball creatures! so cute :)

  2. Your ball softies are FAB! I want some of my very own!

  3. Unbelievable!! I was going to suggest a whale, but I couldn’t imagine it. This is perfectly perfect.

    My five-year-old has an absolute whale OBSESSION, so I am truly in love with this little guy. And the pinstripes on his tummy?? Genius.

  4. I love them, too!! I like the kitty ball in Toys to Sew, but these are much more creative!!

  5. Eek!! He is GREAT!! I am going to show Mario his namesake tomorrow. He’ll get a total kick out of that. It’s sweet of you. :) Great background fabric by the way. I am so in love with this set of toys. You need to take a picture of all of them together. :)

  6. he’s WONDERFUL!! one look at that cheery spout made me grin ear to ear. thanks!! :)

  7. and you do it again – incredible!

  8. That is great! I can never line stripes up either. And the ricrac is brilliant. Nice job.

  9. I Love It!!

  10. The spout is amazing, it carries the whole “whale” concept perfectly and every so cute-ly! MAKE SOME MORE!

  11. […] real baleen whales can be over a year (!), but I couldn’t wait that long to make another of these. They’re way too much […]

  12. Mario the Whale is so cute! I love the way the fins on the side make him look like he is happily swimming along the water :-) And the spout is a stroke of genius. Great work.

  13. I love this whale! I might have to make up a knitted variety. Close cousin. I found your blog through flickr. Love your stuff.

  14. gift unique gift gift idea birthday gift anniversary gift wedding gift gift basket 50th birthday gift corporate gift buy gift buying gifts

    Great website, nice tips, thanks for sharing


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

