Baa, baa, ball!

February 16, 2007 at 10:29 pm | Posted in plush, Sewing/Crafts | 12 Comments

I’ve been having a tough time deciding what kind of doll to make for Carol’s Made for China project. Then I thought of a darling little lamb ball I’d seen on a crafty blog last year. The catch is, I can’t for the life of me remember WHICH blog* it was; I guess I didn’t bookmark it. Does anyone know who might have made that little waffle-fabric lamb? The blogger was so sweet and encouraged me to try one for myself.

*The lamb is here at three pink trees! Thanks for solving the mystery, Brooke!

Anyway, I couldn’t find her site, so today I created this little fella, based on her lamb ball.

ball dolls - lamb  01

I gave him a face of my own, plus ears and a tail, but no legs.

ball dolls - lamb  04

Augh, I love him. Now I want to make a series of ball dolls: kitty, monkey, panda, bird…?

Update: I’ve already sketched out the designs for a bluebird, monkey, panda, kitty, penguin, and fish! I know what I’ll be doing this weekend!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi! De-lurking to say this ball softie is such a cutie! Such a sweet happy face. It reminds me of Madame Trapo’s ball mascots which you can find here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/gla/sets/72157594287781261 (she has some sheep, which might be the ones you are referring too?)

  2. The lamb ball was me :). At least, I did a waffle-weave lamb ball a while back. Your ball doll is just darling!

  3. Eeeeee!! Genius. I absolutely love it.

  4. How beautiful, I love love love it! Oh, I can’t wait to see the others.

  5. oooo this has been on my list to try ever since I got the book “Toys to Sew” by Claire Garland! You can see an adorable version of a kitty ball

    here

    I do love your site, just delurking to say hi!

  6. Very fun! He looks so round and smooth. He’d be really great with a bell inside, too.

    I think this design would lend itself especially well to a fish.

  7. Soo cute where did you get the pattern or didi you just come up with it yourself?
    please let me know !

  8. it’s fantastic. i can’t believe you came up with the pattern on your own – because you couldn’t find it on Brooke’s site, rigth?

    ohhh dream-worthy!

  9. […] in Sewing/Crafts, plush. trackback Here’s the latest ball doll: a birdie ball. I loved the little lamb so much, I just had to make a little spherical friend for […]

  10. I want one.

  11. Pure love.

  12. When you get the patterns ready I want them!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

