Wardrobe refashion: Sweater into Hat

February 13, 2007 at 10:58 am | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 3 Comments

Hi there! I’ve been absent for longer than I thought! No real reason, no big news to report, either.

Ryan has a snow day today! Yay. He’s making us waffles right now. Double yay! We’re expecting upwards of a foot of snow here in Chicagoland today. We’ve shoveled/snowblown once already today and expect to be out there again a time or two today. It’s not bad at all: just a hazard of living in this area.

I washed my winter hat recently and it had a blowout in the dryer. Oops. It’s hard for me to find hats for my big old pumpkin head, so I thought I would try making one. I’d picked up a couple of sweaters for 50 cents each at the resale shop, one of which was a lambswool cowlneck. I love seeing items made of recycled sweaters and wanted to try it out for myself.

Thrifted Sweater

I thought I’d cut up the body and use that to make a hat, but….hey……I pulled the cowl over my head and realized that it fit beautifully. (I wasn’t kidding. My head’s really that big!) I cut off the back and sleeves of the sweater, leaving the cowl attached to a big square of the sweater in the front. I sewed darts into the corners, then sewed the cowl to the raw edges. I used French seams for everything so there wouldn’t be raw sweater edges to leave purple fuzzies in my hair. Oh, and I used a stretch stitch on my machine so the seam around my head would give instead of break when I pulled the hat on and off.

Hat

I zoomed out a little so you can see our snow. I’m off to enjoy the waffles and my husband’s unexpected company!

hat and snow

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s a great hat!

  2. Love the hat!!

  3. Lovin’ it! I’m definately into the sweater refixes too! AH WONDERFUL!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

