I wanna be a banshee

December 14, 2006 at 7:56 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 6 Comments

I’ve long admired the softies made by Kate of Two Little Banshees, especially her charming giraffes. So when I found a soft giraffe pattern in a thrifted craft book*, I knew I had to make one of my own.

I happened to have some Kaffee Fassett fabric on hand, so I was able make one that I think looks rather like its Aussie cousins.

giraffe body shot

I haven’t decided whether I’ll add eyes, but if you look closely, I did mark where they’re supposed to go. Her mane is aqua rickrack, and her tail and horns are bias binding, tied in knots (something I borrowed from Kate).

giraffe closeup

Love the big, floppy ears. 

*Scrap Saver’s 101 Great Little Gifts by Sandra Lounsbury Foose, ISBN 0848711270

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is the perfect fabric for a giraffe. I love it!

  2. Its gorgeous!

  3. I love it. So pretty!

  4. Thanks, y’all. She’s currently my co-pilot, riding along shoved up against my windshield on the dash. She skates from side to side when I turn and makes me smile.

  5. I totally bought that book. I’m very excited to try one myself! I’ve loved Banshee’s giraffes.

  6. My goodness he’s adorable.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

