Latest craftiness

December 9, 2006 at 1:44 pm | Posted in Papercrafts, Sewing/Crafts | 3 Comments

It’s cold outside, so everyone’s spending a lot of time indoors around Chicagoland. Lots of time to think and craft. I’ve been saying little prayers for the Kim family and everyone who’s missing a loved one, especially around the holidays.

whole family

I was lucky enough to spend some time with my entire immediate family last weekend! Ryan and I met everyone in my hometown in Louisiana to attend my sister’s baby shower. I saw a lot of people I hadn’t seen in years. Our neighbor Gloria and her daughters threw a beautiful party for Jenny. What a great time. We laughed a lot and ate a lot – had a big crawfish boil and even collected some of the last pecans from the trees in my sister’s yard. Our three-year-old niece insisted that my Dad shake the limbs of the trees to get down evey last nut, but when that didn’t work, I grabbed a handful or two from her bucket and tossed them over her head from behind. She was none the wiser :0)

strippy ball and soft box 12

Since we’ve returned home, I’ve been crafting away. Sally posted about these super simple, gorgeous paper globes, and I immediately ran to my craft supplies and made up a bunch in various sizes. Instant gratification! The little origami star is a Sonobe icosahedron.

strippy ball and soft box 03

I also checked a long-standing to-do off my list and sewed this soft box based on the felt box tutorial by applehead. I still have some work to do on figuring out the measurements of the template, since I added seam allowances to sew it on the machine, but since I didn’t have a specific size in mind, the result suits me just fine.

strippy ball and soft box 06

I did define the corners a bit by sewing along the edge. It was a little too round-y for my taste. I have 3 other boxes cut out and ready to go. They’re so so cute. I think I’ll make some sets as Christmas presents.

 Enjoy your weekend!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love all the stuff you’ve made!!!! the scrap balls are GREAT! Can i see a close-up of them, if you have one?

    and the paper globes are neat too – i saw them in ADORN and have saved some scraps to make them, although i’ve lost interest in doing them. maybe i’ll print off the directions for a swap i’m in and send them to her to make.

  2. This box is marvelous! Your work is lovely. I followed your link from the Robot/Spaceboy flikr pool. I can’t wait to have a more leisurely look around your site. Feliz Navidad!

  3. I wish I’d seen this before Christmas. What a great idea for gifts. Do you have a tutorial or pattern instructions for the one you’ve made? I saw Applleheads, but prefer yours. I like the boxy shape, too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

