Share a Past Project Thursday: Hex quilt

September 28, 2006 at 4:48 pm | Posted in games, Quilting | 2 Comments

ogre-giant robots quilt

I made this quilt a couple of birthdays ago for our friend Brad who is a big-time gamer. Board games, video games, role-playing games: you name it, he plays it. For this project, I narrowed the content down to two games that are played by laying down hexagonal tiles to create a playing surface. That’s seriously about all I know about How to Play. I’m not sure whether my playing pieces are placed or spaced correctly, but I like the way it turned out.

 

When it came to design and construction, I just made it up as I went along; you just can’t find quilt patterns for tile-laying games on eBay. The hexagons are cut from fabrics that suggest different terrain: ice, mountains, grasslands, plains, river, ocean, desert, and forest. Lots of inset seams to sew, but they weren’t as hard as I thought. The practice served me well when I learned how to make patchwork puzzle balls. I printed the game pieces on Miracle Fabric Sheets (fabric pretreated with Bubble Jet Set), then used double-sided fusible interfacing to iron them on. I didn’t know how to bind a quilt correctly yet; the corners aren’t even mitered. That being the case, I certainly wasn’t up to binding around hexagons on the edge, so I just hacked ’em off straight.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. that’s cool! i like it :)

  2. Because I know you are all dying to know, this quilt features two games. The smaller, black and white pieces are from an old Steve Jackson game called “Ogre.” The larger, colorful robots are from “Battletech.” These pieces would never meet in an actual game, but the burden of quilting is already too great to add such restrictions. I simply sent Lisa a bunch of game pieces and said “Go for it!” And she did.

    Thanks Lisa.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

