Renegade Craft Fair 2006

September 18, 2006 at 12:07 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 2 Comments

Ryan and I went into the city for our first Renegade Craft Fair in Wicker Park. I was too busy looking my eyes out* to take many pictures. No pics at all of the cool glass and screen printed goods. Not even any of the handmade booth signs that I oohed and aahed over. Rats.

arch with eyes

Ryan spotted this arch on the way to the park. Very fitting!

I met Brandy from loosetooth.com, the first blog I ever read. She was super nice. Her designs are so clever: check out her site and shop. Heidi from My Paper Crane had a booth there, too, but she was swamped with admirers, so I didn’t get to introduce myself. Her plush items are even cuter in person than they appear online. I know! It’s hard to believe. I think my fave remains the bruised banana. It even slips out of its peel. Augh!

shawnimals

Speaking of cute plush, I met the peeps from Shawnimals. Who knew Shawn was such a hottie? His doll designs have always been among my faves online. I loved being able to see them fer real.

booth

Kitty Genius was also there. Ashley is a genius. I love her work. Apparently, so does everyone else, as I couldn’t even fit into the crowded booth.

countdown poster

I thought this Election Day countdown calendar was great. It’s like an Advent calendar, with a little window to open for every day of the month before elections. The flaps covering the windows each had a little factoid about the democratic process or election history.

renegade swag

We were in window shopping mode, as I’m still on the job hunt, but the giveaways from the kind Renegade vendors and sponsors helped to alleviate the case of the gimmes I usually experience at such events.

poster

My one purchase was the striking event poster. I obviously had a hard time setting it up for the photo. Third time’s the charm!

*credit: mother-in-law Annette

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lisa,
    The flooding day tale very interesting and the photos to go with. What was the asterisk mother-in-law Annette. Loved seeing the Lauren’s quilt.. That is so cool how a blog works and the feed back you get And meeting some of these other crafter in person or seeing what they look like in person. I can definately see you going this direcxtion in the future. The Cortland Apple picture, yummy.

  2. Hi! I wanted to let you know that the Election Day Advent Calendar is back and better than ever.

    2008 Election Day Advent Calendar: The Fun Way to Count Down to Election Day
    http://www.electiondayadventcalendar.com

    It’s a twist on the holiday classic, just in time for the presidential election. No kitchen, classroom or campaign office is complete without one. It’s the perfect gift for anyone on either side of the aisle.

    The 2008 Election Day Advent Calendar features a fantastical Election Day scene, which changes in silly and thought provoking ways as each window is opened. And behind each window you’ll discover humorous and inspirational quotes from the likes of Fredrick Douglass, Lily Tomlin and Eleanor Roosevelt. No matter how many times you look and with each window you open you’ll keep discovering new characters and hidden details.

    http://www.electiondayadventcalendar.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

