Share a Past Project Thursday – Quincy’s Quilt

September 14, 2006 at 10:51 am | Posted in Quilting | 2 Comments

I’m busy working on three baby quilts at once (!), so not a lot of other crafting is going on right now. I thought I’d post some pictures of one I’ve completed, to remind myself that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel all three tunnels.

Quincy whole quilt

I think this was my second quilt ever, made in 2004 for our nephew Quincy. It’s a simplified version of a traditional quilt block called “Storm at Sea.” I designed it in Microsoft Publisher, of all things, a desktop publishing program. It was fun changing the color scheme over and over before ever cutting any fabric. I also used Publisher to print paper-piecing foundations.

Quincy quilt design

My mother-in-law helped me piece the dark aqua squares-within-squares. I felt really domestic that day, churning out quilt blocks for a family quilt with her one sunny Sunday afternoon.

Quincy's backing

Lest this quilt appear too calm and soothing (although those aren’t bad traits for a baby quilt), I decided to use this fabric for the backing. It’s a Michael Miller dot with a not-usually-for-babies color combination that includes orange, black, yellow, sage green, and aqua. Mostly, it’s dark, so Mom and Dad could throw the quilt on the floor without a second thought. I still have some of the fabric left and have been in search of the perfect project for it. Purse lining, maybe?

Anyway, as with all projects, I learned a lot from making this little quilt. I machine-quilted it, but I instead of going in straight lines, I rotated the quilt aroundandaroundandaround under my sewing machine arm (the “circular” shapes defined by the large white diamonds, and then smaller squares within the yellow diamonds). To quote niece Payton,* “I’m not doing that again!” Even a small quilt was too bulky to do that easily. Also, I didn’t figure out to adjust my tension, and the black bobbin thread showed up pretty regularly on the quilt top. Luckily, after I washed it, it came out of the dryer all crinkly and hid most of the worst parts.

*upon being questioned about a fat lip she’d accidentally given brother Quincy.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thats a gorgeous looking quilt. I’m sure your three baby quilts will turn out well too :-)

  2. You can do it!! I believe :)

    I don’t have patiences for all those little pieces of fabric though. It’s basic quilting for me.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

