Comfort and joy

August 29, 2006 at 11:37 pm | Posted in Cards, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 7 Comments

Big outgoing mail day for me today! I sent out the books from last week’s quilt book giveaway (they’ll be there before too long, ladies!), and a swap package for the Snuggle Swap on swap-bot.com. And, of course, a run to DHL for a wedding map shipment. I love that my DHL center is open until 9:00 p.m.!

The theme for the Snuggle Swap was comfort: a throw, blanket, or softie to cuddle with. I received a wonderful, colorful throw from Crystal. Oh! It just this moment occurred to me that I don’t have pictures yet, but I’ll post some tomorrow. And sweet thing, she included a vintage crafty magazine from the fifties! The ads and articles are a sight for these 21st century eyes. The tone in which they’re written seems..innocent? Naïve? I’ll have to re-read to nail down my thoughts and post more about this along with the pics, which I’ll probably take tomorrow. It will be in the 50s (Fahrenheit) over the next few nights, so I’ll be happy to have that baby corduroy throw, which is perfect with our red sofa and love seat. So soft!

My recipient for the swap was a thirteen year old self-proclaimed sweet-a-holic! Hm. What to give her? I considered plush candy pillows, but decided on a quilted throw. No piecing, just whole cloth, but what cloth it is! I love the candy pattern from Lakehouse Dry Goods. Of course I couldn’t just tease the poor girl with images of candy, so I included some Jelly Bellies and Goobers. Yum.

Candy quilt for swap

And check out the little card I made to go with it. I love a good theme :0)

Gumball card

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love that card, it’s the sweetest!

  2. Great idea for the throw. :)

  3. I really love the throw, it looks good and its great fabric! Love the card too. You have a wonderful imagination :-)

  4. WOW you go all out ony our swaps… excellent! I’ll have to try that ‘no-pieced’ quilt. how did you do the edging?

  5. Thanks for the nice comments, everyone! I haven’t heard from the gal I sent these to yet, but I hope she likes ’em.

    persephonesawakening, there’s a tutorial on binding here:

    http://www.quilterscache.com/StartQuiltingPages/startquiltingfive.html
    I used the straight of grain binding cut to a width of 2-1/4″.

  6. lucky recipient whoever gets this!! what a generous gift!! beautiful work!

  7. Hi! I am your partner for the yo-yo swap from swap-bot and I just had to comment (don’t really think the partners are secret anyway) because I am from IL too! I live in Champaign! (and now, please imagine me speaking in that breathless exclamated-by-short-quick-breaths speach that kids talk in when they are REALLY excited) I-love-your-crafts-and-your-blog-will-you-be-my-friend?-Because-you-are-
    such-a-nifty-person-and-I-only-read-like-one-page-of-your-blog-but
    -I-can-just-tell! I have a flickrtoo, so I added you as a contact of mine.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

