The Trifecta

August 14, 2006 at 8:33 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 5 Comments

Cooking, crafting, and swapping: some of my favorite activities! This month, the Use What You Have group on flickr combined all three in the Dinner Time swap. Participants used materials on hand to create items related to serving or making dinner. We were able to post information about our decor, likes/dislikes, and cooking and eating preferences to help our senders determine what to send.

I just received my swap items from Tanja in Germany. She is a very skilled crocheter!

Received

She included two turtle magnets, handy for holding my recipes on the fridge. Love their fuzzy heads! There are also recipes, potholders, and my favorite, an egg warmer. Here it is with one of my prized chickie egg cups.

Egg warmer

The package I sent (several days late; I’m very sorry, swap buddy!) went to someone in the States. I made some potholders based on the Too Hot to Handle pattern in Denyse Schmidt’s book. I included recipes, too. She’s a vegetarian, so I tried to find delicious, nutritious dishes that she’d enjoy.

sent

I enjoy swapping: connecting with people you have never met and offering them items that you’ve found or made, that you hope they will find useful or enjoyable. When I have to make something for a swap, I can look at my own materials and fabrics with new eyes, seeing what fits both the swap theme and my receiver’s interests. Then, when I receive stuff, I’m so thankful and happy to see the sender’s “take” on my personality and likes. 

If you haven’t tried it before, I highly recommend it!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh yes, swapping fun and addicting!!! :D

  2. Swaps are one of my favorite things about the blogging community. And it looks like you sent and received somelovely items.

  3. How fun! You know I love swaps. But I think I love your chickie egg cup even more. MAYBE.

  4. Oh, I love the swap package you prepared! So beautiful and practical!

  5. You make such cute stuff, I love the package you sent. That egg cozy is pretty yummy, makes me think it’s some kind of candy I’d want to eat.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

