Too long between posts

August 8, 2006 at 3:34 pm | Posted in Blog, Cards, Family, Papercrafts, Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 23 Comments

Yikes! I know it’s summer and all, but I feel bad about neglecting my little blog! I’ve been drowning in work and homework, and there’s always something beckoning on a summer weekend, but now I have lots to write about!

I’ve sent and received my August Color-iffic Swap-o-rama packages: to and from Portugal this time. Lovin‘ that country. The theme colors? Rainbow! Here’s what I sent to Filipa, a lover of all things felt and feline. I also included a quilted purse with kitties, but that didn’t make the photos. The Sharpies and Juicy Fruit were from Chicago-area companies, and I went a-hunting for other little trinkets to fill in the other colors. I thought the folding ruler was nifty, and the felt-embellished cards were a last-minute addition that turned out great.

Rainbow kitties August color-iffic swap-o-rama sent

And here’s what Sofia sent to me! This was her first swap, so I’m honored and impressed. She did a good job with her research, as I adored everything she gave me. Of course, I LOVED the map of Portugal, and the kit (center bottom of pic) to make my own greeting cards. The candy’s long gone, and the fabric’s days are numbered!

August Color-iffic Swap-o-rama Received!

We babysat our Chicago niece and nephew a few weekends ago while their folks (Ryan’s sis and husband) dashed out of town for their anniversary. The kiddies are 1 and 4, and I’m happy to say we survived! They were actually great, and we had help from the nanny on Friday and Grandma on Saturday, and  more grandparents on Sunday. Babysitting should always be like that. The highlights were dancing in the kitchen Saturday night to Paul Simon’s Graceland (of which I took a funny video) and a trip to the Nature Museum and its butterfly exhibit.

small5

august 012

still <- this is a still from the kitchen-dancing movie. It’s too big to post.

I don’t know whether anyone remembers that post I made a while back about not wanting to go into a fabric shop again because I can’t control myself, but my sis-in-law has made it so that I probably won’t have to for years! She sent me ALL her fabric! How generous! She and my baby bro have a one year old, and she despairs of ever having time to craft or sew again, so she’s sent her goods to lucky ME (the word “me” is very high-pitched and squeaky!) to love and use. Folks, I think she’s doubled my stash. There’s some seriously cute stuff in there, and I’m tickled to see that she and I had several of the same fabrics. We must be sisters :)

Here’s my first project with her fabric. It’s a little owl from a pattern for traditional Japanese juggling balls. The term escapes me! But the pattern’s on craftster.org if you want it.

Owl

I think I’ll end here so I have something to post about later in the week, and so you don’t burn out on my blahblahblah-ing! It’s good to be back, baby!

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I so love your new banner, that owl is so cool, I actually found the pattern a while back but forgot to try it out. Yours is awesome.

  2. those kitties turned out so CUTE!!! i knew they would…i’ve been waiting to see them :)…and how adorable is that owl? thanks for the link…may have to try it out.

  3. The owl is sooooooo cuteeeeeee!!!!!!!!! You did an amazing job!!!! :D

  4. can you give me the owl pattern? one that can be understood? What do you stuff the owl with? what the fabric used and measurements, etc? thanks! The owls are awesome! Ana

  5. I love this owl. I have seen the pattern but I cannot figure out about the measurements. Could you give them to me? (in cm it would be great).
    I am new at sewing
    Congratulations again

  6. Beautiful.
    Do u have the owl pattern?
    is so cute…

    Congratz

  7. Nevermind.
    I found it.

    I love you`r stuff

  8. Ooh… The owl is cute. But I think the link is not working anymore.

    Would you mind email it to me please?

    jovneo@yahoo.com

  9. So, I’ll join the chorus and say I Love Your Owl! I searched crafters.org, but couldn’t seem to spot it. I hate to ask, but do you have a copy you can share? I’m really itchin’ to start a sewing project.
    Best,
    Cora

  10. Oh same here! I love that owl and have been on Craftster, but the link doesn’t work anymore. If you have a copy, I’d appreciate it so much if you could share?

  11. Hello- I was looking at the material you made with spoonflower. The one with the owls on it. It’s so cute. what are you doing with the material? Do you sell it anywhere? Please let me know.

    nicole

  12. I too would LOVE the owl pattern. I can’t find it on this web site. Please let me know if I can get a copy somewhere!

  13. I must agree, the owl is darling. I have a sister that collects owls and would love to make her one. I was unable to find it, also. Thanks for sharing your darling work.
    Thanks, Denise

  14. Help…I love your owl, but couldn’t locate the pattern on the www you gave us. ThanksSoMuch!

  15. The owl is so cute, but like som many others I cant find it on the website… Would it be possible for you to email it to me?

    Thanks Meline

    P.s. all your work is just absolutely adorable.

  16. Okay….gals. Has anyone found the owl pattern? I have looked and looked on the web and nothing. They are so sweet. I just love them. Thanks.

  17. I’m also looking for the adorable owl pattern – can anyone help me please?
    Maria x

  18. Please could someone e-mail me the owl pattern I also have searched and searched – would be so grateful x

  19. Could you please e-mail me the owl pattern? I’ve searched and searched but couldn’t find it. my email addy is honey_bee6838@yahoo.com

  20. Could you please email me the pattern as well? My email address is mleonard0587@gmail.com. Thanks in advance!

  21. I can’t find that owl pattern to save my life. Could someone e-mail it to me? They are so adorable. Thanks

  22. I can’t find the owl pattern either. Please, someone could you email it to me?? I want to make for our little boy’s nursery. aubri.wing@gmail.com
    Thank you!!!

  23. I am unable to locate the owl pattern……..could someone e-mail it to me? I can’t wait to make it. It is especially cute.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

