Modern Quilt-along

July 9, 2006 at 6:51 pm | Posted in Family, Quilting | 2 Comments

I e-mailed Kim last night about joining her year-old Modern Quilt Along. I’m glad this is such a long-lived project, or I would have missed out! I’ve enjoyed seeing the group members make progress and complete their quilts, all of which come from the Modern Quilt Workshop book by the folks at the neat-o keen Fun Quilts studio just up the road from us in Oak Park, IL.

I’ve chosen the Once upon a Time quilt as my project. I really want to use this oh-so-cute print, but it’s not the best quality. You can even see through it in this photo :0(

Fabrics for Once upon a Time quilt

What to do? I know some of you have probably used vintage (or new for that matter) fabric, some of which, while darling, might be a little sketchy in the quality department. I’d appreciate any advice you could offer. I just love the little animals and town scenes though. Anyway, check out how Blair’s, Rose’s, and Karen’s versions of this quilt turned out. Cute, huh?

I hope to complete my own project before our nephew’s birthday in September. Here’s a picture of the little guy, who’ll be turning 6 then. He’s a bright, lively fella, and I think he’ll get a kick out of creating stories with this quilt along with his parents and little sis.

Land Ho!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh good. I was just going to tell you that I saw that she posted re: MQA. I had no indication that she ever got my email about joining up so I kind of lost interest and never started my quilt. Now, the pressure’s on!

  2. Thanks for your advice here, there, and everywhere, everyone. I am choosing the muslin option, simply because I think it will be the least stiff and noticeable under the print. Time to get started!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

