It’s a very good place to start

June 29, 2006 at 2:49 am | Posted in Blog | Leave a comment

Me!

I started this blog as primarily a craft blog, but I know it’s inevitable that other aspects of my life will eventually seep into the posts, like our niece’s birthday party, or my unabashed geekiness. So, since this is a Very New Blog (not even a month old), I thought I’d share a few things about myself, in the form, more or less, of the ABCs meme I’ve seen on other blogs:

Asian Cajun: I grew up in Lafayette, Louisiana, in the heart of Cajun country. I miss the people and the food and the whole slow, comfortable flow of living there. Come to think of it, it’s probably slow because it’s so darn hot there!

Bargain hunter: I believe that paying the recommended retail price for anything is for the uninformed.

Cats: sigh. I grew up with cats and want one, but my husband Ryan is allergic to them. Whenever I see a cat, I want it.

Downers Grove: western suburb of Chicago, Illinois where we live. Home to the most Sears catalog homes in the US. It’s a typical Midwestern town. We really love it here and our friends and family love it when they visit.

Elizabeth: my “real” name. I sometimes don’t remember to answer to it at the doctor’s office. As a child I was only Elizabeth when I was in trouble. My mom has a Filipino accent and says “ee-LEE-sah-beth,” hence “Lisa.”

Favorite fabric: cotton, of course, for almost all sewing. Unless it’s wool felt for a softie or something.

Games: love playing them, Scrabble being my fave. My mom and dad play Scrabble with against each other every day. Ryan and I play games with friends, and my big splurge last summer was a Baggo set for the back yard (see Ryan and our nephew Quincy below).

Having people over: we try to do this at least once a month so that we don’t let the house get too messy. We both enjoy cooking, and Ryan is hospitable to a fault.

I knew it: translation of my maiden name, Losabia.

Jenny: my only sister and bestest buddy. She still lives in Louisiana and I miss her so …and she’s! Having! A! Baby! Yay! No one else in my family knows, and I swore I wouldn’t tell them, but they don’t know I have a blog, and I’m about to bust! I feel better now.

Kids: love them! Hope to have a position teaching them soon, too. But my husband and I don’t have any yet. Not opposed to the idea; it’s not the right time.

Laptop: tied with my sewing machine for most essential piece of crafting equipment! I get inspiration and patterns from the Internet, order supplies from eBay and online stores, try out designs in graphics programs, and print out fabric and templates, to name a few reasons.

Math: Highly underrated. I think I like sewing and quilting so much because there’s so much geometry involved in cutting things out and making them fit. And we use a fair bit of estimation and other math-y skills in cooking and everyday life, don’t we? Will it fit? How long will it take to get there? etc., etc., etc.

Not enough sleep: I never get 8 hours. I don’t have insomnia. I just won’t go up to bed some nights until 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning.

Opportunity missed: When I was a freshman in high school, my high school began offering a foreign language (Spanish) other than French for the first time ever. After sitting in a hot Louisiana classroom with over 40 other students for a few days, I switched over to the French class. I never ever use French nowadays, but I admit it came in handy with the Cajuns back home.

Procrastination: my worst habit.

Quilting: one of my favorite crafts. I was introduced to it about 10 years ago because Ryan’s mom, sister, aunts, and girl cousins all contribute blocks to make a baby quilt when a new little cousin or grandchild is born.

Roommate: I met my husband when I was dating his!

Spanish: I’m taking my first real class this summer (see letter “o”). “Yo estoy tomando una clase de espaňol.”

Teacher: My next career! I have an elementary ed. degree and have worked in various roles related to educating both children and adults. After years of working in the private sector, I obtained my teaching certificate last year. I haven’t yet landed a position.

Unusually large head: A notable physical feature. My Ryan and I both have very short legs. He has a round, bald head and very fair skin. These, along with my melon head, do not bode well for our future children. We think our child will look just like this!

Very optimistic: My friend Cheryl refers to me as the Glass Half Full Woman. My husband Ryan is even more so. He makes me look like Eeyore. (I love these shirts from loosetooth.com.)

Wedding maps: I make maps to send out with wedding invitations. Hey, it’s probably the biggest party you’ll ever throw yourself. Maps help your friends and family be there to share it with you.

Xylitol: along with maltitol, sorbitol, and a couple of others, these sugar alcohols are used as artificial sweeteners in sugar free things, especially candies, and they are bad, bad news for my tummy. It took a long time for me to figure this out, so I thought I’d try to spread the word.

Y’all: something I still say, even after having lived up north for over a decade. The English language needs a better second person plural than just “you,” and plus I think it’s friendlier.

Zippers: I just learned how to sew them into lined pouches a week or two ago.

Lame ending, but it’s 2:30 a.m. (see letter “n”). See y’all around!

Lisa K.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

