I, state your name, do solemnly swear

June 28, 2006 at 1:51 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | Leave a comment

I am not buying any more fabric for the rest of the year. There I’ve said it. Er, typed it.

Maybe I should revise that to “I am not setting foot in any fabric stores for the rest of the year.” This is me in the parking lot of a fabric store: “I only need thread. I will only buy thread.” Then I cross the threshold, have some sort of craft-induced blackout, and emerge hours later, yards of fabric heavier and lots of money lighter. Going to a fabric store for me is like an alcoholic going to a bar.

I can always justify it. Today, it was binding for a baby quilt. And I ran out of dark red fabric, which I somehow manage to use in most projects. And then there was just a cool print. Okay that last one was weak, but the others were okay. Weren’t they?!

It’s not like I have a huge stash of fabric or anything. I just don’t neeeeeeed any more. There are plenty of “someday” projects and patterns on hand to keep me busy. I joined the Use What You Have group on Flickr, and it has curbed almost all of my shopping and prompted me to use a ton of the materials and notions previously languishing in my closet, but I think I might need more drastic measures. I’m going to try really hard not to give into the cute calico monkey on my back, and stick to this [crazy, impossible, impulsive] pledge.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

