“When are we ever going to USE this?”

June 14, 2006 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Sewing/Crafts | 3 Comments

heatherball

You know we asked ourselves that question many a time in school, but never more than in math class, right? Well, my crafty friends, I had a run-in with my old friend Geometry today, when I happened upon these fabric balls on Heather's blog.

Just this week, by coincidence, I'd seen an (I think) identical pattern in a vintage book that I stupidly didn't buy at the used bookstore. Maybe it's still there. I should find out the name if I can. Or buy it – even better. Anyway, I'd made a note in to try to figure out the pattern pieces if I could, and I did:

The circumference of the ball is equal to diameter of the ball times pi, so each of the 6 "sections" would be 1/6 of the circumference wide (finished). The finished length of each section would be equal to 1/2 of the circumference!

Do I sound like the Scarecrow from The Wizard of Oz, after he got his brain? Never fear! I've just heard straight from the Heather's mouth (well e-mail, anyway) that she plans to post the pattern and directions on her site in the very near future. Huzzah! I'm not even bothered that I went through the motions of figuring the math out for my own ball because I'm not just a craft geek, I'm a geek geek, too!

Who's the Queen of Sharing Patterns? Oh, YOU know. Run on over there and download the headband and booties patterns, too.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good job on that math! And look how beautifully your stripes come together at the center!!! Love it :-)

  2. Thanks, Heather. I used freezer paper for the pattern so I could get the stripes j-u-s-t right. I said I was a geek, didn't I?

    XO

  3. I love those fabrics and I am thrilled to know that there will be a pattern in the future!

    (but the ball looks so simple that I feel like I shouldn’t need a pattern, but but but I suspect that it looks simple to make because it’s so beautiful and that, actually, it’s mathy hard!)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

