June color-iffic swap-o-rama, part one

June 3, 2006 at 1:19 am | Posted in Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 1 Comment

I signed up for the June swap in late April, which gave me the entire month of May to make and collect items fitting the theme colors of black and white. I was so excited about my first swap that I think I had everything boxed and taped up by the second week of the month. Typical: my friends and family all know that instant gratification and I are old and fast friends.

My assigned recipient (my sister insists that I stop using the term "swap partner" or risk being mistaken for a swinger) lives in England. Neat! I nosed around the group's discussion boards and my partner's profile and photos to get an idea of her likes and interests. She had posted photos of her beloved kitty, so I made her a felt version from a tutorial on craftster. Luckily, Fluffington fit the color theme for the month

Here's what I sent:

June black-and-white-and-?? swap

A swap newcomer, I'd included some fairly weighty items, which really gave me a twinge when it came time to pay the international postage. I'll just chalk it up to experience. My mantra this month will be "lightweight." The US Postal Service's Global Priority Mail was the surprise winner of the cheapest international postage contest, and the package has already arrived over the pond.

Rosanna was pleased with all her goodies. She's even posted a picture of the two Fluffingtons:

Stay tuned for part two, in which Lisa receives her first color-iffic swap-o-rama package. It might be a while; in order to save on the high cost of international shipping, some swap participants send packages via surface mail, which has been known to take upwards of two or three months!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Blogged here. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

