Strawberry Rhubarb Πr2

April 28, 2007 at 12:30 pm | Posted in Doll Quilt Swap, Quilting, Sewing/Crafts, swaps | 17 Comments

completed doll quilt

That’s what I’ve named this quilt, which I just completed for our little Doll Quilt Swap. The colors reminded me of the fillings in my husband’s favorite pie.

grid quilting

I’ve quilted grids between the circles that look a little like a lattice crust. And of course the formula for the area of a circle is πr2. Guess I’ve been teaching too many math classes at the ol’ children’s museum :o)

The design is based on the Mod quilt in Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr’s book The Quilter’s Color Workshop. They’re the fine folks at Funquilts who also authored the popular book The Modern Quilt Workshop. I thought a lot about color when choosing the fabric for this quilt. The middle section of the quilt is supposed to look as though a translucent white square lies lays sits atop the “original” darker colors, seen along the edge.

binding

I love, love, love the binding. It’s a couple of taupes and a salmony-rosy color woven together.

This is my first time making a doll quilt. I was really amazed at how much more quickly and easily it seemed each step was completed, compared to making a larger quilt. It also took so little fabric and very little space to work on it (marking, layering, pinning).

pie

That being said, I did hit a couple of speed bumps. Since both of the circle fabrics had directional prints, I had to be super careful when cutting and piecing them. And I challenged myself to try out curved piecing, thinking it would be easier on a small project. It was hard for me! I drafted the templates for the circles, which was a little tricky, but they worked out. The curved quilting gave me fits, too. Luckily the majority of the quilting is straight-line grid and channel quilting, which is easy-peasy with a walking (even-feed) foot.

I’m a little sad to pack it up, but I guess I have to: the deadline to send quilts for the swap is Monday! Hint, hint, Swap Dolls!!

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, Lisa, you did an amazing job! Love the colors you chose and the overall design of the quilt. And the top-stitching? My goodness! Just perfect! Wow! I am in awe. So gorgeous!
    By the way, I finished my quilts and have yet to decide which one to send my recipient. I posted the photos on Flickr. Whichever one I go with, I will definitely send the quilt out on Monday.

  2. I love the quilt and I love, love ,love the name. I am a sucker for the double entendre. The colors give it such a wonderful vintage look. What a lucky swap recipient!

  3. Gorgeous and the effect is wonderful. I’m feeling very inadequate!

  4. Thank you all for the doll quilt love :o)

    Mama U: Don’t feel that way! I think the simple doll quilts can be some of the most charming. As I said above, I was just trying to challenge myself in a controlled (read: small) environment.

  5. Lisa, your quilt came out looking amazing. You really managed to lead the pack with your dedication and use of curves. I’m still a bit scared of them, but will think about them a bit more after seeing this adorable doll quilt.
    You’re a ROCK STAR for putting the swap together! THANKS!!

  6. beautiful. beautiful. beautiful. that’s one lucky girl.

  7. gorgeous. amazing. the COLORS!! just lovelovelove it!!

  8. You did a fantastic job on this project- particularly the quilting. I agree, the binding was the perfect choice! Regards, Carla

  9. Your quilt is wonderful! I love the quilting… I will have to think about doing some quilting like that on an upcoming project! Maybe for another doll quilt swap? :P. Thanks for putting the swap together, it’s been tons of fun to see everyone’s quilts!

  10. Your quilt is just lovely. I keep coming back to look at it…When are you going to do another swap????? I am not pushy or bossy at all …I am just wondering because I had a blast doing this one! Thank you thank you! Thank you! I just joined up on the Get your craft on too- that looks like a fun group!

  11. It made it! Good lord, I’m so impressed with the quilt! The construction is amazing, and I really like the pattern. Thanks!!!

  12. This is gorgeous! Such a sweet quilt.

  13. Awesome quilt!

  14. Lucky recipient. I keep seeing this around and it always catches my eye.

  15. mønster

  16. I saw this on the purlbee site and it’s just gorgeous! The colors are so beautiful, and your design too.

  17. [...] the same design as the Strawberry-Rhubarb Πr2 quilt I made for Maitreya in the first round of the Doll Quilt [...]


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

